Election Day Voters Pick Eisenbeisz, Approve Propositions

By Sentinel Staff
Voters on election day today favored Steven Eisenbeisz for mayor, and approved the two propositions on the ballot.
With up to 860 absentee ballots to be counted, Chris Ystad and Thor Christianson led the field in the race for two open Assembly seats, followed by Richard Wein.
Three School Board candidates ran unopposed for three seats.
Polls closed at 8 p.m. and ballots were counted at Harrigan Centennial Hall by 9:45 p.m.
In the race for mayor, Eisenbeisz received 798 votes, Valorie Nelson 478 and Kevin Mosher 263. 
In the Assembly contest, Ystad had 933, Christianson 747, Wein 626, Kris Chinalski 505, and Ryan Herbert 101.
In the School Board race, Mitch Mork had the most votes with 1,145, and Tristan Guevin with 1,086. Melonie Boord was an official write-in candidate, and results showed that Write-ins received 500 votes. The three open seats are for terms of one, two and three years.
Voters were in favor of Ballot Prop. 1, a special marijuana sales tax, dedicated to school activities, 862-659. The margin was wider on Ballot Prop. 2, to dedicate funds from the sale of the hospital toward construction of a haulout and boatyard, with 1,224 in favor and 309 against.
Absentee ballots will be counted starting noon Friday at Centennial Hall.


Unofficial results of Tuesday's municipal election. (Sentinel Photo)

Login Form



April 2004

Photo caption: Sitka High students in the guitar music class gather in the hall before the school’s spring concert. The concert was dedicated to music instructor Brad Howey, who taught more than 1,000 Sitka High students from 1993 to 2004. From left are Kristina Bidwell, Rachel Ulrich, Mitch Rusk, Nicholas Mitchell, Eris Weis and Joey Metz.


April 1974

The Fair Deal Association of Sealaska shareholders selected Nelson Frank as their candidate for the Sealaska Board of Directors at the ANB Hall Thursday.


Local Events


Daily Sitka Sentinel on Instagram!


Daily Sitka Sentinel on Facebook!